Work Wear Style Me Challenge- Week 4

The Style Challenge has come to an end and I’m kind of bummed. But, I’m also excited to use the new style tools I gathered along the way to do some fun stuff with my outfits.

Day 13:

The challenge called for a cardigan over a sheath dress with a belt. I love this look! I felt polished and very put together. However, it was on this day that the heavens decided to open and it poured rain basically all day. I love looking good, but I hate being wet and soggy, so I had to change things up!

image

image

The polished sheath dress look became a much more casual outfit! But, I loved this too! This leopard cardi is going to be my BFF this winter I’m sure! I layered it over a denim shirt and wore some skinny ponte black pants and ankle boots. I wanted to keep my cute layered necklace, but it was too much with the shirt and cardigan, so I switched it out for a simpler blue necklace.

Cardigan is Old Navy. Denim shirt is JCP. Black pants are Maurices (these are fabulous-SO comfy and skinny enough for boots with no problems, but a nice thick knit- they get tons of wear in cold weather!). Booties are from K-mart (I’m so proud of this fact! It’s not somewhere I shop much at all, but I happened upon these on super clearance this past spring and they are so cute!). Sheath dress is JCP. Colorblock wedges are Payless. Teal layered necklace is Charming Charlie’s and blue one is Loft Outlet.

image

Day 15

The outfit was supposed to be finished off with a blazer, but I loved my new khaki jacket with this outfit! I felt cute and put together but still casual. The necklace was the perfect pull-together piece!

I need to talk about these jeans for a second. They are a few years old, but they are my old faithfuls! For a long time I stayed off of the skinny jean train because I have large thighs and just legs in general. But I tried these on and fell in love! They are the perfect length for me, fit perfectly (even when I’m a few pounds heavier or lighter than usual), and have a nice wash that’s always appropriate. They’re from JCP and I’ve never found another pair that was just right like these!

My jacket was an impulse buy from Nordstrom (now out of stock). Mix and Match Mama suggested it and it was on sale for less than $30, so I went for it. It’s very cute, but it does have a few issues- it wrinkles really quickly/easily and the sleeves cuffs are huge. There’s elastic in the cuffs, but it’s gigantic around my wrist. I sized up since it’s a junior’s jacket, but that shouldn’t make the cuffs THAT big. It’s still cute and is something I didn’t have in my wardrobe, though, so I kept it. The sleeves are easily pushed up and I usually roll/push up my sleeves anyway, so it was fine.

The top is Old Navy. Necklace from Jane.com and leopard flats from Target.

image

Just because two outfits were not enough…

Monday

I pulled out some pieces I hadn’t worn in a while during the challenge!

image image

I liked the soft flowy top with my bright skinny pants and structured denim jacket. I also couldn’t wait to wear these fun earrings! The colors weren’t something I’d normally put together, but I liked the pop.

Top is from Maurice’s this past spring, shoes are Target and earrings are Charming Charlie’s.

My denim jacket is Kut from the Kloth last year. Here’s a jacket from this year. This year’s colors are different and I like them (but honestly, I like mine more!). I never though of a denim jacket as an investment piece, but I’ve gotten so much wear out of this thing, it’s crazy, and I’ll be wearing it tons this fall/winter too!

Pants are Old Navy pixie pants and they’re my fave! They are on sale for $25 right now, so if you don’t have any yet, this is a great time to buy!

Wednesday

image

I was running late, so I pulled out a challenge outfit! I went heavy on the pink and loved it! Also showing off my new cognac tote bag from Call It Spring. I got it on sale at an outlet this past weekend and I’m loving it!

Thanks for journeying through this little challenge with me! It’s been fun! I am SO ready to start the fall challenge! Sign up starts soon and the challenge will start in October. I’ll be sure to update my blog with the information when the time comes!

Also, be sure to check out my fellow Work Wear Challenge Bloggers’ last few outfits!

Love Lauren
Leave a Reply

