Fall Style Challenge, Week 2!

This was a fun week of outfits, but I missed a few. I’ll try to make those up once the challenge is over. Here’s what I came up with this week.

Day 4

image

I substituted some burgundy ON Pixie Pants for jeans in this outfit. I can wear jeans to work, but I prefer not to most of the time. Since the challenge calls for lots of jeans, I decided to change things up and throw in some more work appropriate pants! I liked the pants with my dressy sweatshirt from JCP. It’s so comfy, but dressy enough to wear anywhere. My leopard flats were a perfect finish along with some gold accessories.

Skipped days 5 and 6

Day 7

image image

I mixed this one up some too (I pretty much do everyday, right?!). The outfit called for leopard flats, but these jeans just don’t like flats. They are too long to wear regularly, but I know if I hemmed them, they’d fit funny and they are a weird material that is really soft, but does not cuff well. I still really like them, but they are pretty much just for boots! So, anyway, I went leopard with my scarf and pulled on my black boots. Striped top is from Nordstrom (great shirt and I LOVE the length!) and cardigan is from Old Navy.

Funny story, this was Sunday so I wore this to church. Pretty much as soon as I walked in, two of the older ladies were commenting on how I mixed patterns and they really liked it, but wouldn’t have thought of doing that themselves. One lady said, “The young people just know how to do that better!” I wanted to tell them all about the challenge, but just said thank you as I was hurrying my kids to their classes!

Day 8

image

This was my favorite look of the week. I had two plaid shirts in the wash and though I really like this black and white one from Old Navy, I thought it might be too plain to wear with the military jacket. So, I added some gold jewelry and it totally amped things up! I wore my Toms booties with it and loved how it looked!

Though I did really love this look, I decided that I needed a new  military jacket that would be warmer and easier to layer. I looked around online and didn’t see much selection at my usual stores, but I checked again at JCP and found this adorable jacket in the junior’s section. It was even available at my local store, so I got to try it on and loved it there too. I might have also found another plaid shirt (sold out online)… Hey, it’s burgundy and I don’t have one that color yet! 🙂 (And yes, there are little feet on the bench behind me. My kids were “sleeping.” It didn’t last long!)

image

Day 9

image

I adapted this look too! The look called for a dressy sweatshirt over a striped shirt on top (bottom is leggings and leopard flats- check!). I tried various combinations of stripes and sweatshirts and didn’t love any of them. So, instead I went for this embellished baseball top. It’s not a sweatshirt, but it’s the same idea. I wore my mixed media denim jacket (Old Navy, but no longer available) with it in the morning. I thought it was a cute, different outfit that worked pretty well!

Day 10

image image

Today’s outfit is cute, but I’m still not 100% sure my shirt and scarf don’t clash. I thought there was a stripe of burgundy in my scarf, but I think it’s just red. Oops! Oh well, I think it’s got enough colors to cover that little mix up!

I’m also wearing a cardigan from Maurice’s a few years ago. I even got a shot of the back. I love that crochet detail. Maurice’s is great at adding a fun detail to their clothes and I LOVE that!

My jeans are new. They are Old Navy pixie JEANS! I didn’t know they existed until recently- maybe the didn’t? I’m loving them so far! The material is soooo soft and the cut is just like the pixie pants that I love so much. I love the dark, even wash which makes them great for work.

I think that’s it for today! Thanks for checking out my outfits for the week! Which was your favorite?

*Head’s up! Today, October 22, Old Navy is 30% off with FREE 2 day shipping! Might be something to check out!*

Make sure to check out all these other lovely ladies’ interpretations of this weeks’ outfits!

Deena | Christy | Jordan | Carrie C. | Shaunacey | Danielle | Beth | Joy | Sarah |
Leslie | Katie | Jennifer | Carrie M. | Lisa | Mary | Sheila | Lana | Lauren | Anna | Alison
Love Lauren
12 thoughts on “Fall Style Challenge, Week 2!

  1. I like the red plaid shirt with the military jacket. I feeel like everyone looks good in their plaid shirt but I feel frumpy. Not giving up though!

    Like

    1. Don’t give up! My red plaid shirt I wore last week is really boxy and I have to layer it for it to look right- it’s kind of annoying. I’ve found better fitting ones in tunic styles. They seem to look better on me.

      Like

  2. Hi Lauren…Love that military jacket from JCP!! Great looks this week! Love the toms booties…one day I’ll get them. Are they easy to walk in?? Is the wedge on the bottom pretty thin or thicker? Also, thanks for the ON sale tip!! I need that like I need a hole in the head!! Hahaha

    Like

    1. Thanks Katie! I am not a heels person and I can walk really easily in the Toms booties, so that’s saying something! They are very comfy for wedges. The wedge is probably about two inches, so not too high. And I was proud of myself for resisting buying anything from ON today. It took extreme restraint!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

